NJ Statutory Disability ("TDB")
TDB Claims are for accident or illness unrelated to the job
New Jersey Temporary Disability Benefits ("TDB") is a state disability insurance program designed to provide employees with some level of income replacement in case of disability caused off-the-job.
NEW JERSEY TEMPORARY DISABILITY BENEFIT BASICS
"TDB" became Law in New Jersey State in 1948.
7 days (After 3 consecutive weeks of disability, the 7-day waiting period is compensable)
Period of Disability:
Benefits begin on the 8th day of illness or injury and are paid for a maximum of 26 weeks per disability
Employees cannot be asked to contribute more than under the State Plan. For 2019, the contribution rate is 0.17% of the first $34,400 (taxable SUTA wage base) earned in a calendar year. Currently, the maximum contribution amount per employee is capped at $58.48.
Balance of cost
State Fund, Private Insurance Carrier, self-insured
All sections must be completed and the claim must be submitted to the Insurance Carrier within 30 days.
All New Jersey employers covered by the Unemployment Compensation Law are also subject to the Temporary Disability Benefits Law with the exception of certain government entities.
The "Base Year" is the 52 weeks immediately before the week in which the disability began. Only covered wages earned during the base year period can be used in determining a claim.
Out of State Coverage
Where you live has no bearing on whether you can receive disability benefits. The most important eligibility requirement is that you worked for a New Jersey covered employer.
| For more information, contact us at:
(718) 535-7070 or firstname.lastname@example.org